SP2010: Intellisense not working with master pages in VS2010

One thing I noticed when starting to work with SharePoint 2010 in Visual Studio 2010 is that when you are editing a master page (and some other type of items) you get no intellisense.

Why this is I have no idea but I can guess that it has to do with the project type that the SharePoint project is based on (getting back to that in upcoming posts…) which is not a web template.
OK, but you can get around it thought.

The solution

What you do is right-click on the .master file and choose “open with…”

Then you click the “master page editor” and click “set as default” button.

Now it should work again…

,

  1. #1 by dm on December 20, 2010 - 19:45

    Thank you! I was on the verge of reinstalling vs 2010 before I saw this.

  2. #2 by Patrick on January 7, 2011 - 23:03

    Thanks so much for this post, Johan. This was puzzling me, but I was struggling along without intellisense. Now it’s working fine!

    • #3 by Johan Leino on January 7, 2011 - 22:05

      Thanks so much. I blog because I want to share my knowledge…so glad I can help

  3. #4 by Dilip Nikam on May 26, 2011 - 10:49

    Hey thanks a lot for sharing this use full information. Its really help me a lot.

    Thanks Again…. :)

  4. #6 by Kevin Cook on October 20, 2011 - 13:53

    Thanks! This actually fixed a VS 2008 project I was having problems with as well.

  5. #7 by Heitor on June 21, 2012 - 19:20

    Not working dud!!!

  6. #8 by rick on September 7, 2012 - 17:41

    thanks! it works.

  7. #9 by Michael Carpenter (@escapismc) on September 12, 2012 - 16:57

    I have this issue, and Open With works for that time, but it never takes and I have to continually use Open With.

  1. HowTo: Making your SharePoint 2010 project template behave as a web application – part 1 « Johan Leino
  2. Intellisense and outlining not working | sharepoint2010guru

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 309 other followers

