SharePoint Conference 2009: Document and Records Management

Man, this is one interesting area for SP 2010. It looks like this is one of those areas, ECM, where Microsoft has made real investments.

I´ll try to sum-up some of my reflections from the sessions I have attended in this area.

Managed Taxonomy Store

To start off with, we now have a centralized managed metadata service which means that all content types are available throughout the farms (yes farms as in multiple). This is due to the new service architecture in SP 2010 where we no longer have the Shared Services Provider but instead a lot of stuff, such as content types, live in services.

So no more “installing” content types in every sitecollection, yeah!
This will also mean (I hope since I saw that “republish” button) that we now can make updates to content types and push those changes out to the farm.
So there goes that CT manager that I have used before (some of you who have worked with me on the last project, if you read my blog, will know what I mean).

Term Sets

In the last project I worked on we called that the term catalogue or the lexicon lists. Term sets are now a new metadata field that we can use.
Terms now live in a service on its own (available throughout the farms) and they have owners (you can email that owner that you want a new or change a term). You can close or open terms. You can have stakeholders that want to be notified of changes. You can have different languages!

You can move from local terms (on lists or webs) to central terms that then become available to the farms. You can merge terms sets or terms together.
In document libraries you can then filter on these terms to show docs that have a specific term applied to them (for example filter on all documents that have the term language set to swedish)

Document Center

We now have a document ID service (I don´t know if they call it service) that will generate an Id for you (which you can change the formatting of). I have written a couple of those in SQL before. If you then search or type in that Id you will get directly to the document. They are also managed so if you move a document the system can still be able to find where the document went.

You have an upload button in the UI on the start page (you don´t have to go into a library to upload a document), and we can drag and drop multiple documents into SharePoint.
Multiple selects for checkout is another UI feature. You can also tag documents and use the new “I like it” tag (my tags).
Better support for “send to” with multiple sources and the ability to leave a link to the document behind.

Folders will be more than just a hierarchy thingy. You can have security and all sorts of stuff on folders (policies etc). We also have automatic partitioning (no more partition manager custom code).
Metadata driven navigation is much better and the filtering is fantastic. It looks like the views are going somewhat away.

Documents Sets

Ok, I used to call them document collection and I have managed all that on my own before. This is now built in and they have an Id of you want. They can have a start page that you can customize.

Office

SharePoint templates are now a part of Office so now if I create a document in word I can choose from a SharePoint template and get a whole bunch of stuff for free.

One cool thing is the new content organizer support which for example mean that if I were to add a metadata to my document that said that it was secret SharePoint could pick up on that when I save it and apply a rule set on it that moves it into a special folder or location that I have set up. This also means that I don´t have to point to a specific location to save the document, SharePoint takes care of that for me through the content organizer and the rules applied.

Scaling

Ok, SP 2010 supports much more content now so that´s that but you also have compound index support, auto index management and query throttling w/fallback. Content organizer can now also move documents based on for example what year they were created.
We have remote blob storage.

Records Management

Very nice looking auditing reports in the UI and exportable is now built in. We have something called in place records management (and also achive) which means that you can only do certain things to documents that have been selected for records management (the ribbon changes accordingly). Wiki pages can also be a subject for records management which means that they no longer can be edited if you choose that rule set.

Ok, so that´s some of the new things (puh)…but I like it!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

